
STATE AUDITOR’S OFFICE 

LEAVE INTERPRETATION 86-061 

 

TO: Human Resources Directors 

DATE: July 9, 1986 

SUBJECT: 
Allowable carryover of annual leave for an employee whose anniversary date is in 

August. 

 

Question: 

What is the allowable carryover of annual leave for an employee who completes 20 years of 

service on August 15? 

Answer:   

An employee who has 20 years of total state employment at the end of the fiscal year may carry 

over 388 hours from one fiscal year to the next fiscal year. 

Texas Government Code, Section 661.152 (d), states that an employee accrues vacation leave 

and may carry vacation leave forward from one fiscal year to the next in accordance with the 

following schedule: 

Employees with Total State 

Employment of: 

Hours Accrued Per 

Month for Full-time 

Employment 

Maximum Hours Carried 

Forward From One Fiscal 

Year to the Next for a Full-

time Employee 

Less than 2 years 8 180 

At least 2 but less than 5 years 9 244 

At least 5 but less than 10 years 10 268 

At least 10 but less than 15 years 11 292 

At least 15 but less than 20 years 13 340 

At least 20 than less than 25 years 15 388 

At least 25 but less than 30 years 17 436 

At least 30 but less than 35 years 19 484 

At least 35 years or more 21 532 



  

Texas Government Code, Section 661.152 (g), states that if an employee's state employment 

anniversary date occurs on the first calendar day of a month, the employee begins to accrue 

vacation leave at a higher rate on the first calendar day of the appropriate month.  Otherwise, the 

employee begins to accrue vacation leave at the higher rate on the first calendar day of the month 

following the anniversary date.  Because the employee’s anniversary date is August 15, the 

employee will accrue 13 hours of annual leave on August 1 and 15 hours of annual leave on 

September 1. 

Texas Government Code, Section 661.152 (h), states that an employee is entitled to carry 

forward from one fiscal year to the next the balance of unused accumulated vacation leave that 

does not exceed the maximum number of hours allowed.  As of the end of the fiscal year (August 

31), the employee has completed 20 years of service and is therefore entitled to carry over 388 

hours of annual leave. 

________________________________________ 

1
 This is an updated version of this State Auditor’s Office Leave Interpretation.  It was updated in 

2011 to primarily reflect statutory changes.  The previous version can be found at 

http://www.hr.sao.state.tx.us/Statutes/LI86-06_old.html  


